Track Eagle Farm
Distance 1400 Prize Money $1,360,000
Class Group 1 Carnival Winter

The Stradbroke Handicap is a Group 1 race held under open handicap conditions at Eagle Farm Racecourse. Taking place each June in Brisbane, this event is run over a distance of 1400 metres for $1,000,000 in prize money.

The Stradbroke Handicap is run on the biggest day of racing at Eagle Farm Racecourse. While this race is the premier event of the day, the Stradbroke Handicap also shares the bill with the Group 1 Queensland Derby and the TJ Smith Stakes for two year olds. Being one of the major 1400 metre sprint races in Australia each year, this event always manages to attract a good quality field.

Some of the most notable horses to have won the Stradbroke Handicap include Dane Ripper in 1997, All Our Mob in 1994, Rough Habit in 1991-92, Toledo in 1998, Show A Heart in 2002, Thorn Park in 2004, Sniper’s Bullet in 2007, and Mr. Baritone in 2008. The Stradbroke Handicap is held in honour of Lord Stradbroke, and is widely considered to be one of the toughest handicap race over 1400 metres.

The Stradbroke Handicap is a high pressure race, with winners often hard to pick. However, there are some good indicator races that take place before this event, including the Group1 Doomben 10000 at Doomben and the Group 2 QTC Cup at Eagle Farm. Black Piranha ran second in the Doomben 10000 prior to winning this event in 2009, with Ortensia winning the QTC Cup before placing third placing in this race.

The Stradbroke Handicap has a long history in Australian racing, with the first edition of this event run in 1890. Originally a Principal Race run over a distance of 6 furlongs, it was elevated directly to a Group 1 event in 1980. Recent winners of the Stradbroke Handicap include Mr Baritone in 2008, Black Piranha in 2009 and 2010, Sincero in 2011, and Sizzling in 2012.