Track Doomben
Distance 1350 Prize Money $750,000
Class Group 1 Carnival

The Doomben 10000 is a Group 1 race held each May during the Brisbane winter racing carnival. Hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club, the Doomben 10000 is a weight for age event run over a distance of 1350 metres for $650,000 in prize money.

The Doomben 10000 is held on the last day of the Doomben racing carnival, and shares the billing with the Group 3 Premier’s Cup and Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes. The Doomben 10000 has been won by a number of quality horses over the years, including Apache Cat in 2008-09, Takeover Target in 2007, Bel Esprit in 2003, Falvelon 2001-02, and Chief De Beers in 1995 and 1998.

The Doomben 10000 is the premier spring event of the Brisbane winter, and always manages to attract a field of quality horses who have come from other events. The Group 1 BTC Cup is one of the most important indicator races, held at the same track only two weeks earlier. Apache Cat in 2008 was the last horse to win both of these events in the same year.

The Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes at Morphettville in Adelaide is also a good form guide for the Doomben 10000, with 2011 champion Beaded placing second in the Sangster Stakes before winning this event. The Doomben 10000 has been run since 1946, with Bernborough taking out the inaugural event over a distance of 7 furlongs. The Doomben 10000 graduated directly to a Group 1 event in 1980.

After competing in the Doomben 10000, horses may go on to race in events such as the Stradbroke Handicap at Eagle Farm and the Winter Stakes. Second place horse in 2009, Black Piranha, went on to win the Stradbroke Handicap, with Beaded coming second in both races in 2011. Recent winners of the Doomben 10000 include Apache Cat in 2008 and 2009, Hot Danish in 2010, Beaded in 2011, and Sea Siren in 2012. Sea Siren won the 2012 race ahead of Buffering in second place and Temple Of Boom in third.