Track Rosehill
Distance 1500 Prize Money $600,000
Class Group 1 Carnival

The Coolmore Stud Classic is a Group 1 race held each year at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. One of the events to look out for every autumn racing season, the Coolmore Stud Classic is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $600,000 in prize money. The Coolmore Stud Classic is run on the same day as the Ranvet Stakes.

The Coolmore Stud Classic is a handicap race for fillies and mares, and one of only two Group 1 races for females during the Sydney autumn carnival.
The only other Group 1 race for females during autumn in Sydney is the Queen of the Turf Stakes, which is held each year on Golden Slipper Stakes Day.

The Coolmore Stud Classic is often an exciting race, and has produced a number of fine winners over the years. Some of the biggest names to have won this event include Emancipation in 1984, Skating in 1993, Sunline in 2000-02, Tuesday Joy in 2007, and Typhoon Tracy in 2009. The winner of this event avoids ballot for the Doncaster Handicap.

Some horses over the years have managed to win both the Coolmore Stud Classic and the Queen of the Turf Stakes in the same year, with the last one being Casino Rose in 1999. Regal Cheer came close in 2006, winning the Coolmore Stud Classic before coming second in the Queen of the Turf Stakes.

The Coolmore Stud Classic began back in 1973, making it a relative newcomer on the racing circuit. The winner of the inaugural event was Miss Personality, with the race starting out as a Principal event. It graduated to a Group 2 race in 1980, finally became a Group 1 race a few years later in 1984. Along with other names, the Coolmore Stud Classic has also been known as the Coolmore Classic, the Orlando Classic, and the Rosemount Wines Classic.

In recent years, winners of this race have included Eskimo Queen in 2008, Typhoon Tracy in 2009, Alverta in 2010, Aloha in 2011, and Ofcourseican in 2012. Ofcourseican won the 2012 race ahead of Secret Admirer in second place and King’s Rose in third.