Track Caulfield
Distance 2400 Prize Money $3,000,000
Class Group 1 Carnival Spring

The Caulfield Cup is one of Australia’s great horse races, taking place each year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. Raced over a distance of 2400 metres and worth a whopping $2,500,0000 in prize money, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup is one of the richest handicap races in the world.

The Caulfield Cup is second in riches and prestige behind only the Melbourne Cup, and is the premier event of the famous three day Caulfield Racing Carnival. An open handicap race, the Caulfield Cup has a long and distinguished history in Australian racing that stretches back to 1879. During this time, lots of the nation’s greatest horses have won this event, including Might and Power in 1997 and Northerly in 2002.

Along with being a great race in its own right, the Caulfield Cup is often combined with the Melbourne Cup to form the biggest double of the racing season. While not many horses have managed to win this double, some that have include Let’s Elope in 1991, Doriemus in 1995, Might and Power in 1997, and Ethereal in 2001.

The Group 1 Caulfield Guineas and Thousand Guineas both serve as a good form guide for the Caulfield Cup, with some horses who race well then going on to perform in the Melbourne Cup and the WS Cox Plate. The Group 1 Turnbull Stakes has also proved to be a good lead up race for the Caulfield Cup, with 2011 winner Southern Speed first coming fourth in the Turnbull Stakes the same year.

Since 1998, the Caulfield Cup has been open to international horses, with British entrant Taufan’s Melody winning the very same year and All The Good also victorious a decade later in 2008. There are 18 horses in total for the Caulfield Cup, with automatic entry given to winners of the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes and the Listed Mornington Cup.

Some of the other events that have proved to be a good form guide for the Caulfield Cup are the Wakeful Stakes, the Moonee Valley Cup, and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes. Recent winners of the Caulfield Cup include Viewed in 2009, Descarado in 2010, Southern Speed in 2011, and Dunaden in 2012.